anime, free write, letter to, LGBTQ, Longwinded nothingness, love, manga, short story, Transgender(FTM), Uncategorized

Behind the anime

Behind every anime.. There is a manga. Behind some mangas, there is a wuxia novel or chinese light novel. 

Anime is the vision, lacking in detail but full of color.

Manga is the stepping stone. More detailed than any anime, but also just a visual.

Then there’s the Chinese light novel. Which, is anything but light. The shortest one I’ve ever read was 200+ chapters. Light novels can be light, like Harry Potter book one light, or ‘light’ like Harry Potter book one through the last book J.K. Rowling’s author grandchildren writes. 
You might think this is in exaggeration, but there are some wuxia novels, that have 800+ chapters. I’ve read two of them. 

I used to think manga, and normal novels and comics were all that that was out there even worth getting interested in. Then I was introduced to the light novel. 

No other kind of story, book series, TV show, movie, or any other form of expression has ever touched me so deeply. 

Ever.

I have never before, lived, and died with a character. Felt their pain, been so scared for them, excited for them, happy and completely pissed off with them. But when I read my first light novel.. I had to read more. 

I started off with Re: Monster. It was great, and it even had some pages of the manga in it after the chapter just so you could get a visual. But it was so long, and I was so young (16) that I couldn’t finish it. Recently I found the manga for it. I was hugely disappointed.. In only finding barely more than 20 chapters. I was past chapter 600 and will probably have to start all over. 

But I’m okay with that. Because these are the kinds of novels that you read for life.. And I don’t mean that they are so long you’re reading one forever. I mean they’re the kind of thing that you want to come back to.  

Here are some of the sites I use if you want to give them a try. They are in English, and they update with new chapters all the time. Maybe pick one that’s ongoing, you’ll have something to look forward to every couple days.

wuxiaworld.com

shiroyukitranslations.com

translationnations.com

Just make sure to use your imagination going forward.

Standard